NBC Sports Wins Eclipse Award for Belmont Show

NBC Sports won the Eclipse Award for National Television – Live Racing for its production of the 2004 Belmont Stakes (gr. I) the National Thoroughbred Racing Association announced Jan. 4.

The show, produced by David Michaels, aired June 5 and featured the bid by Smarty Jones to become the first Triple Crown winner since 1978. To date, NBC has won seven Eclipse Awards, including four for its coverage of the Triple Crown series.

"To have won the Eclipse Award after this amazing year in racing is a great honor for our team at NBC Sports," Michaels said. "The Triple Crown, just as it does for the horses and horsemen, makes us rise to the occasion and do the best job we possibly can."

Honorable mention in this category went to HD-Net for its coverage of the Santa Anita Derby (gr. I). The show's producer was Darrell Ewalt.

Judges for the National Television – Live Racing category were: Marty Rotberg of PBS affiliate WNET; Kenneth Sheil, former NFL Films producer and Stuart Kirshenbaum of Oak Street Films.

The 2004 Eclipse Awards will be presented Jan. 24 at the Regent Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills, Calif.