Galt House Plans Derby Jockey Tribute

(edited press release)
The Galt House Hotel and Suites, one of Louisville's legendary landmarks, will unveil "Gallop to Glory," a one-of-a-kind tribute to the living Derby winning jockeys on May 5 during a special ceremony in front of the hotel.

The Galt House, which will also be hosting the Derby Press Party that same night, just completed part of a $60 million renovation project and is scheduled to complete the final phase by February 2006.

As part of the renovation, the Galt House has commissioned artist, Craig Kaviar, to design this tribute. Similar to Hollywood's "Walk of Fame," all 30 living Kentucky Derby winning jockeys have been invited to preserve their handprints in cement, which will be placed around a Gallopalooza horse at the main entrance of The Galt House. Each year, the newest Derby winning rider's handprints will be added. Kaviar is also designing unique roses, made of steel, to complement each jockey's handprint.

"The Galt House is very pleased to honor Louisville's horseracing heritage and these fine athletes," said Mary Moseley, president of the Al J. Schneider Company. "This lasting legacy is a wonderful asset to our newly renovated hotel."

"This is obviously a very nice tribute to us jockeys," said retired Hall of Fame rider Steve Cauthen, the last to win the Triple Crown. "The more recognition we can get for horseracing and the riders, the better. This is a good way to get some attention and bring riders into the public eye. The Galt House, being right in downtown Louisville, is the perfect place to do it."

In addition to the "Walk of Fame," the Galt House is opening the Jockey Silks Bourbon Bar, featuring horse racing memorabilia. The Jockey Silks will feature unique racing memorabilia, loaned to the Galt House by the participating jockeys, and a special drink and glass engraved with jockey Stewart Elliott's signature. Each year, a new glass will be designed to commemorate the most current Derby winning rider.

Among the jockeys invited to participate are active riders Pat Day, Jerry Bailey, Gary Stevens, Victor Espinoza, Stewart Elliott, and Jorge Chavez and retired Hall of Fame riders Steve Cauthen, Ron Turcotte, Chris McCarron, Laffit Pincay Jr., Angel Cordero Jr., and Eddie Delahoussaye.