Silent Auction to Benefit Thoroughbred Charities at NYTWA Dinner

Seasons to top New York-bred stallions, New York Yankees memorabilia, a foursome at Saratoga National Golf Club, house seats to a Broadway show, a Travers Day box, and seats for the 22nd Breeders' Cup World Thoroughbred Championships are among the items scheduled to be auctioned off at the 82nd annual New York Turf Writers Association awards dinner and dance, Monday, Aug. 22 at the Gideon Putnam Hotel in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

Proceeds from the silent auction will go to Thoroughbred charities, including the Thoroughbred Retirement Foundation, Belmont Child Care Association, and the Backstretch Employee Assistance Team.

Among the stallion seasons on offer at the auction include Best of Luck, Freud , Gold Token, Kelly Kip, Mayakovsky, Prime Timber, Rizzi, and Strategic Mission.

Bids will also be taken on a bat autographed by Derek Jeter and an authentic New York Yankees jersey signed by Alex Rodriguez. There will also two sets of tickets to future Yankees games up for sale.

Also up for bid will be a print from equine artist Anthony M. Alonso; a laser-on-canvas print from Eclipse Award-winning photographer Michael J. Marten; a portfolio of prints from Daily Racing Form cartoonist Peb; restaurant certificates from the Springwater Bistro, The Polo Club, and the Wishing Well; merchandise packages from Daily Racing Form and the National Basketball Association; and a gift certificate for an ice sculpture.

Tickets for the dinner are $100 and can be obtained by calling Charlotte Quinn at 518 584-6200, ext. 4235, or by e-mail at

Ghostzapper, the 2004 Horse of the Year and champion older horse, heads the list of 2004 award winners announced by the NYTWA. Owned by Stronach Stables and trained by Bobby Frankel, Ghostzapper was named the winner of the Secretariat Award as New York's Horse of the Year of 2004.

Other 2004 NYTWA award winners are Team Smarty Jones, the Alfred G. Vanderbilt Award for the individuals who did most for racing; Hall of Fame trianer Nick Zito, the C.V. Whitney Achievement Award; John Velazquez, the Fourstardave Award and the Eddie Arcaro Award; John Servis and John Imbriale, co-winners of the Red Smith "Good Guy" Award; Todd Pletcher, the Woody Stephens Award; Marylou Whitney, the Paul Mellon Award; Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, the Ogden Phipps Award; Sackatoga Stable, the Big Apple Award; and John Hettinger, the President's Award.