Five Maidens Among 11 in Del Mar Futurity

Eleven juveniles, including five maidens, are scheduled to go to the post Wednesday in the $250,000 Del Mar Futurity (gr. II) to be run at 7 furlongs on the main track.

Two of the entrants – The Pharaoh and Jealous Profit – will be supplemented to the field for a fee of $10,000 each.

Headlining the field will be twice stakes-placed Bashert, the Bill Currin-trained Florida-bred colt who finished second to What a Song in both the Hollywood Juvenile Championship (gr. III) and Del Mar's Best Pal Stakes (gr. II). He'll carry 117 pounds and be ridden by Rene Douglas while breaking from the outside post.

Maiden winner A.P. Warrior figures to be popular with the bettors as will another impressive maiden winner, Stevie Wonderboy. They'll both carry 117. A.P. Warrior was in the Best Pal field, but dumped his rider, Garrett Gomez, in the post parade, ran off, and was scratched.

Other one-time winners in the field are The Pharaoh, who comes to the race from Florida, where he was a recent purchase by Charles Cono and delivered to trainer Christopher Paasch; John Hennessy, who won as an $80,000 claimer for trainer Bob Hess, Jr.; and One Union.

The non-winners in the field are Jealous Profit, another Floridian just bought by J. Paul Reddam and sent to the barn of Doug O'Neill; Plug Me In and El Senor Halo, from the barn of Marcelo Polanco; Old Thunder, trained by Ron McAnally; and the Brian Koriner-trained Dinner Magic.

Although he's a maiden, Plug Me In is stakes-placed by virtue of his third-place finish in the Best Pal. The lone gelding in the field will carry 117 pounds.

Joining trainer Polanco with two horses in the race is O'Neill, who will saddle Stevie Wonderboy as well as Jealous Profit.

$250,000 Del Mar Futurity (gr. II, Race 8, 5:35 p.m.), 2-year-olds, 7 furlongs
PP. Horse, Weight, Jockey
1.The Pharaoh (FL), 117, Jon K. Court
2. El Senor Halo (FL), 115, Martin Pedroza
3. Old Thunder (KY), 115, Alex Solis
4. Jealous Profit (FL), 115, Corey Nakatani
5. Dinner Magic (FL), 115, Kent Desormeaux
6. John Hennessy (KY), 115, Jose Valdivia, Jr.
7. A. P. Warrior (KY), 117, Patrick Valenzuela
8. One Union (KY), 117, Victor Espinoza
9. Plug Me In (KY), 117, Kerwin John
10. Stevie Wonderboy (KY), 117, Garrett Gomez
11. Bashert (FL), 117, Rene Douglas