Trainer Klokstad Among Washington Hall of Fame Picks

(edited release)
Trainer Bud Klokstad, jockey Basil James, breeders Guy and Barbara Roberts and racehorse Smogy Dew are the 2005 inductees to the Washington Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame.

Klokstad, who began training in 1955, has won more stakes races than any other trainer in the history of Emerald Downs (39). Known for his expertise with young horses, Klokstad has won the Gottstein Futurity a record seven times in his career. He's captured the Emerald Breeders' Cup Derby three times and holds the record for most stakes wins in a season in Washington with 14, set at Longacres in 1992. Aamong his many stakes winning racehorses, Klokstad trained 1983 Eclipse Award winner Chinook Pass through most of the gelding's career.

Rider Basil James, at age 16, led the nation in wins in 1936 with 245 victories. He was the nation's leading money earner in 1939 with $353,333 in purses earned from 191 victories in 904 mounts. He rode Alsab, the 1941 2-year-old of the year and 1942 3-year-old of the year. Alsab and James won the 1942 Preakness Stakes a week after finishing second to Shut Out in the Kentucky Derby.

Guy and Barbara Roberts, who make up Guy Bar Farm, are this year's inductees for breeder. For better than 30 years they have been breeding racehorses such as Cocktails Anyone, Funboy, Court's in Session, Peter's Pond and Court Shenanigans. All of them have earned more than $200,000 in their career. Guy Bar Farm led all Washington breeders in earnings seven times since 1996 and has been in the top five in earnings since 1985.

In 1964 Smogy Dew became the last filly to win the Longacres Derby, one of 11 stakes races she won by Smogy Dew. But even more impressively, it was one of six stakes she won against males. She won 16 of her 29 career starts with $60,248 in earnings. She was conditioned by Glen Williams, the all time leading stakes winning trainer at Longacres, who ranks Smogy Dew's Longacres Derby victory as the biggest thrill of his career.

Inductees into the Washington Thoroughbred Hall of Fame were selected by a 16-member committee consisting of members of the Washington Thoroughbred Breeders' Association, Washington HBPA, Emerald Downs and outside media members.

They will be inducted during a banquet at Emerald Downs on Oct. 1.