Heiligbrodt Named to NTRA Board of Directors

Edited press release

Bill Heiligbrodt, a Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association trustee, has replaced John Amerman as the TOBA representative on the National Thoroughbred Racing Association board of directors.

"John (Amerman) has served the board with great distinction," NTRA commissioner D.G. Van Clief Jr. said in a release. "We are sorry that he is leaving, but we consider ourselves fortunate to have someone with Bill Heiligbrodt's skills and experience available to represent TOBA."

Heiligbrodt, recently named to the Breeders' Cup executive committee, currently serves as a financial consultant and is active in his family business, Heiligbrodt Racing Stable. The Heiligbrodt family has been involved in the horse industry for more than 30 years, not only with Thoroughbreds but also Quarter Horses.

Among the top racehorses he has owned or bred are Lady Tak, Intercontinental, Golden Ballet, Bwana Charlie, Posse, and Merada Little Sue, a three-time world champion Quarter Horse. Heiligbrodt is a past president of the Texas Horsemen's Partnership and currently serves on the board of the Texas Thoroughbred Association.

Heiligbrodt assumes his seat effective immediately and will be in attendance at the NTRA board of directors meeting Sept. 29 at Turfway Park.

The complete NTRA board is as follows:

Commissioner: Van Clief.

Independent representatives: Bob Elliston (Midwestern region), Craig Fravel (Western region), and Bruce Garland (Eastern region).

Racetrack representatives: Charles Hayward (New York Racing Association), Jim McAlpine (Magna Entertainment Corp.), Tom Meeker (Churchill Downs Inc.), and Nick Nicholson (Midwest region--independent).

Owner/breeder representatives: Robert Clay (Breeders' Cup), Heiligbrodt, G. Watts Humphrey (Breeders' Cup), and Ogden Mills Phipps (The Jockey Club).

Horsemen's representatives: Alan Foreman (Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association), John Roark (National Horsemen's Benevolent and Protective Association), and Mace Siegel (Thoroughbred Owners of California).