'NTRA Moment of the Year' Contest Under Way

from the NTRA

Voting is under way at the National Thoroughbred Racing Association Web site (www.ntra.com) for the seventh "NTRA Moment of the Year" contest.

Voters can choose from among 12 images, drawn from the year's racing through the Breeders' Cup World Thoroughbred Championships. Those who select the winning image will be entered in a random drawing for a grand prize of $1,000. The winning moment will be announced at the Jan. 23, 2006, Eclipse Awards ceremony in Beverly Hills, Calif.

The moments were selected to illustrate a wide range of human emotions and achievements as well as outstanding displays of equine athleticism. Listed chronologically, the images and events that fans can choose from are:

--Bellamy Road blows away the field in the Wood Memorial Stakes at Aqueduct

--Giacomo captures the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs at 50-1

--Afleet Alex overcomes a dangerous incident to capture the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course

--Afleet Alex wins the Belmont Stakes by seven lengths

--Japanese sensation Cesario dominates her United States filly peers in the American Oaks at Hollywood Park

--Lava Man overpowers his foes to win the Hollywood Gold Cup

--Trainer Nick Zito is enshrined in Thoroughbred racing's Hall of Fame

--Powerscourt makes amends for 2004 and powers home in the Arlington Million

--Borrego wears down Perfect Drift and Lava Man to win the Pacific Classic at Del Mar

--Borrego unleashes devastating move to take the Jockey Club Gold Cup at Belmont Park

--Stevie Wonderboy takes the Bessemer Trust Breeders' Cup Juvenile at Belmont for owner Merv Griffin

--Saint Liam caps off a big year with his victory in the Breeders' Cup Classic - Powered by Dodge at Belmont