Breeders of Breeders' Cup Winners to be Honored

Edited press release
The National Thoroughbred Racing Association and Breeders' Cup Ltd. will honor the victorious breeders of the 2005 Breeders' Cup World Thoroughbred Championships at the 12th annual Breeders' Cup Ltd. dinner on Saturday, Jan. 7, 6:30 p.m. in the Clubhouse at Keeneland Race Course in Lexington, Ky.

Mike Battaglia and John Asher will serve as co-masters of ceremony.

As a part of the presentation, breeders of the eight Breeders' Cup champions from last year's event at Belmont Park and the Breeders' Cup Steeplechase at Far Hills, N.J. will each receive a miniature Ecorche trophy. Seven of the nine horses were bred in Kentucky, one was bred in Great Britain and one in Germany.

The winning breeders to be honored are:
--Robert and Beverly Lewis for Folklore (Ky.), Alberto VO5 Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies (gr. I);
--John Gunther, Tony Holmes & Walter Zent for Stevie Wonderboy (Ky), Bessemer Trust Breeders' Cup Juvenile (gr. I);
--Juddmonte Farms for Intercontinental (GB), Emirates Airline Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Turf (gr. IT);
--Joe Mulholland Sr. and Joe Mulholland Jr., et al. for Silver Train (Ky), TVG Breeders' Cup Sprint (gr. I);
--Haras du Mezeray S.A., for Artie Schiller (Ky), NetJets Breeders' Cup Mile (gr. IT);
--Phipps Stable for Pleasant Home (Ky), Emirates Airline Breeders' Cup Distaff (gr. I);
--Baron Georg Von Ullmann for Shirocco (GER), John Deere Breeders' Cup Turf (gr. IT);
--Edward P. Evans for Saint Liam (Ky), Breeders' Cup Classic – Powered by Dodge (gr. I); and
--Richard Fox, Nathan Fox and Richard Kaster for McDynamo (Ky), Breeders' Cup Steeplechase.

Dinner tickets are $75.00 per person. For ticket information call the NTRA at 859-422-2611.