The Race for Education To Top $1 Million Mark With Scholarship Awards

Edited press release

The Race For Education board of directors voted to award $350,000 in scholarship money this year to young people in the equine industry, bringing the 4-year-old organization's total scholarship awards to $1,044,000.

This year's sum includes new scholarships sponsored by Keeneland and Emerald Downs racecourses, the Ashado Scholarship for a young woman majoring in a horse-related subject, and the National Turf Writers Association (NTWA)/Youbet Journalism Scholarship.

The national nonprofit organization continues to offer its two original types of scholarships: the Thoroughbred Scholarship and the Horsemen's Scholarship.

The Horsemen's Scholarship is available to children of racing industry workers, including, but not limited to, foremen, grooms, hot walkers, trainers, riders and maintenance workers. This scholarship is open to any field of study.

The Thoroughbred Scholarship is available to students wishing to pursue a racing or equine-related career, such as veterinary medicine, agricultural science, racetrack management, or equine business management. The scholarship is open to students from all walks of life. All but the NTWA/Youbet scholarships are primarily need-based.

"Awarding more than a million dollars in such a short time is exciting, but I am most proud of all of the young people whose lives have been changed by receiving a Race For Education scholarship," said executive director Elisabeth Collier. "The Thoroughbred racing industry deserves an enormous amount of credit for their support in making this important program a reality."

To date, $694,000 has been awarded to 59 students from 17 states. A selection committee of racing industry members independent of the RFE board of directors chooses recipients.

This year's selection committee is headed by Steve Grissom, RFE board member and college finance consultant and includes RFE treasurer Georgia Lockridge; Greg Avioli with National Thoroughbred Racing Association/Breeders' Cup; Chris Young of Overbrook Farm; Chaplain Mike Powers; Remi Bellocq of the National HBPA; Gay Fisher, formerly with the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders' Association and now with Mt. Brilliant Farm; Kathy Lacy with National Thoroughbred Racing Association/Breeders' Cup; Kathy Harty, California representative; Anne McMahon, New York representative; Mark Simon of Thoroughbred Times; Corinne Heiligbrodt, Texas representative; and Joe Miller, former RFE scholarship recipient now with Kern Lillingston Association.

The RFE is accepting scholarship applications from high school seniors and college students until Feb. 28. Scholarship applications and submission guidelines can be found at the RFE web site, For more information, contact the RFE at (859) 252-8648.