Jockey Edgar Prado celebrates Whitney Handicap victory with Lemon Drop Kid, new to the Hall of Fame nominee list.

Jockey Edgar Prado celebrates Whitney Handicap victory with Lemon Drop Kid, new to the Hall of Fame nominee list.

Dave Harmon

Hall of Fame Announces 87 Nominees on 2006 Ballot

The National Museum of Racing's Hall of Fame has released the names of 87 nominees for induction into the Hall this year, with trainer Neil Howard and jockey Mark Guidry among newcomers on the list for consideration. The Hall of Fame is located at the National Museum of Racing in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

Among horses new to the nomination list released Monday are Lemon Drop Kid  and Soaring Softly.

Horses become eligible for nomination after they have been retired for five full calendar years. The eligibility requirement for trainers is 25 years of participation in Thoroughbred racing as a head trainer. Jockeys may be nominated after they have been licensed for 20 years.

Finalists from the previous three years are automatically included on the nomination list.

The nominees, all of whom have been active since 1980, fall into four categories: contemporary female horse, contemporary male horse, jockey, and trainer. Horses, jockeys and trainers who have not competed in 25 years may be considered by the Hall of Fame's historic review committee, which also meets this year. Biographies and past performance records of the 87 nominees will be examined by a 14-member committee of 14 people. In a secret ballot, the members of the committee will select the three finalists in each of the four categories.

A panel of approximately 190 people will receive Hall of Fame ballots in April. To be inducted, a finalist must receive at least 75 percent of the votes cast as well as the most votes in the category. In the event of a tie in the number of votes received, a category could have more than one inductee.

The inductees will be announced in a national teleconference during the final week of May. The 51st class of Hall of Fame members will be formally inducted on Monday, Aug. 7.

Author and racing historian Edward L. Bowen is the chairman of the Hall of Fame committee.

The complete list of 2006 nominees for the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame:

Contemporary female: Banshee Breeze, Brown Bess, Estrapade, Hollywood Wildcat, Inside Information, Landaluce, Life's Magic, Mom's Command, Nastique, Open Mind, Royal Heroine, Safely Kept, Sharp Cat, Silverbulletday, Sky Beauty, Soaring Softly.

Contemporary male: Artax, Awesome Again , Best Pal, Black Tie Affair, Chief's Crown, Criminal Type, Da Hoss, Dave's Friend, Favorite Trick, Ferdinand, Giant's Causeway , Gulch, Housebuster, Kotashaan, Lemon Drop Kid , Lure, Manila, Paradise Creek, Real Quiet, Silver Charm, Smoke Glacken, Snow Chief, Spend A Buck, Swale, Theatrical, Thunder Gulch, Unbridled, Victory Gallop.

Jockey: Cash Asmussen, Jorge Chavez, Patti Cooksey, Jean Cruguet, Robbie Davis, David Gall, Carl Gambardella, Mark Guidry, Eddie Maple, Herb McCauley, Craig Perret, Don Pierce, Edgar Prado, Randy Romero, Jose Santos, Larry Snyder, Alex Solis, Fernando Toro.

Trainer: Roger Attfield, Dale Baird, Frank Brothers, John Campo, John Gosden, Bruce Headley, David Hofmans, Jerry Hollendorfer, Neil Howard, Gary Jones, Patrick Kelly, King T. Leatherbury, M.E. (Buster) Millerick, Jim Morgan, Gasper Moschera, Carl Nafzger, Willard Proctor, Virgil (Buddy) Raines, John Russell, William E. (Doc) Schmitt, Mel Stute, Warren Stute, Billy Turner, John Veitch, Robert L. Wheeler.