Original Spin Faces 10 in Forward Gal Stakes

Original Spin, third last year in the Alberto VO5 Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies (gr. I), and undefeated Misty Rosette will be among the choices in a very competitive field of 11 3-year-old fillies drawn for the $150,000 Stonerside Forward Gal Stakes (gr. II) at seven furlongs Sunday at Gulfstream Park.

Jockey Rene Douglas gets aboard Russell Reineman Stable's Original Spin for the first time. Retired Jerry Bailey rode the daughter of Distorted Humor  in her last start when she finished six lengths behind division champion Folklore in the Breeders' Cup. Trained by Tony Mitchell, the Illinois-bred Original Spin won her first two career starts last summer at Arlington Park, including the Arlington Breeders' Cup Lassie (gr. III) by 4 ¼ lengths.

Sebastian Madrid has ridden Sonia Chapman and Stuart Tsujimoto's Misty Rosette in all three of her victories, most recently the 6 ½-furlong Old Hat Stakes (gr. III) over a sloppy Gulfstream track on Feb. 4. Trained by James K. Chapman, the daughter of Stormin Fever was brilliant winning her career debut by six lengths on Dec. 2 and the Sandpiper Stakes at Tampa Bay Downs on Dec. 31 by 3 ¾ lengths.

Another solid contender in the Forward Gal with a victory over the track is Donald Dizney's Florida homebred Joint Effort with Mark Guidry in the saddle for trainer Dale Romans. The chestnut daughter of Runaway Groom was impressive winning the $250,000 Sunshine Millions Oaks Jan. 28 by 2 ½ lengths.

Stonerside Forward Gal Stakes (gr. II, Race 10, 5:16 p.m.), 3-Year-Old Fillies, 7 Furlongs
PP. Horse, Weight, Jockey
1. A Sea Trippi (FL), 116, Mike E. Smith
2. Miraculous Miss (KY), 120, Jeremy Rose
3. Misty Rosette (KY), 120, Sebastian O. Madrid
4. Vestrey Lady (KY), 118, Shaun Bridgmohan
5. Lake Alice (FL), 120, Kristi L. Chapman
6. Original Spin (IL), 120, Rene R. Douglas
7. India (KY), 116, John R. Velazquez
8. Joint Effort (FL), 120, Mark Guidry
9. Miss Shop (FL), 116, Cornelio H. Velasquez
10. Sweet Fervor (KY), 116, Edgar S. Prado
11. Win McCool (KY), 116, Rafael Bejarano