Three Excluded from Oversubscribed Kentucky Derby

Three horses, including Florida Derby (gr. I) third-place finisher Sunriver, were excluded when 23 horses were entered Wednesday for Saturday's Kentucky Derby presented by Yum! Brands (gr. I) that is limited to 20 starters on the basis of earnings in graded stakes.

Also excluded due to the graded earnings rule were Hemingway's Key and Lewis Michael.

Shortly after entries were taken at Churchill Downs' racing office, a draw was conducted to determine the order in which connections of the 20 horses will be permitted to select their post positions when that draw is held at 5 p.m. today.

As a result, the connections of San Felipe Stakes (gr. II) winner A. P. Warrior will get to draw first.

With an abundance of speedy, front-runners entered in the Derby, the post position takes on additional importance.

Trainer Kiaran McLaughlin, whose Flashy Bull and Jazil will have their posts selected in the 18th and 20th positions, respectively, said the outcome could not have been worse. By selecting so late in the process, McLaughlin's horses are likely to have the least favorable posts.

"It is not a very lucky draw," said McLaughlin. "It is a shame we don't have any strategy now."

Meanwhile, Dale Romans, who trains the speedy Sharp Humor, could not have been happier with his number three selection order. "I couldn't be happier with the third pick," he said.

The order in which post positions will be selected, with trainer and jockey:
1 A.P. Warrior --Shirreffs --Nakatani
2 Bob and John --Baffert --Gomez
3 Sharp Humor --Romans --Guidry
4 Barbaro --Matz --Prado
5 Showing Up --Tagg --Velasquez
6 Point Determined --Baffert --Bejarano
7 Deputy Glitters --Albertrani --Lezcano
8 Private Vow --Asmussen --Bridgmohan
9 Bluegrass Cat --Pletcher --Dominguez
10 Steppenwolfer --Peitz --Albarado
11 Sinister Minister --Baffert --Espinoza
12 Seaside Retreat --Casse --Husbands
13 Sweetnorthernsaint --Trombetta --Desormeaux
14 Cause to Believe --Hollendorfer --Baze
15 Lawyer Ron --Holthus --McKee
16 Brother Derek --Hendricks --Solis
17 Storm Treasure --Asmussen --Flores
18 Flashy Bull --McLaughlin --Smith
19 Keyed Entry --Pletcher --Valenzuela
20 Jazil --McLaughlin --Jara