CTHF Appoints Directors

(from the California Thoroughbred Horsemen's Foundation)

The California Thoroughbred Horsemen's Foundation (CTHF) announced the results of its 2006 board of directors elections. The CTHF board of directors is comprised of nine members, with four director appointments starting July 1, 2006.

Rick Arthur, DVM, reappointed to the CTHF board, recently named equine medical director for the California Horse Racing Board, serves as director for the Oak Tree Racing Association, horse owner and breeder, and expert in the field of veterinary medicine.

Robert Bean, previously served on the CTHF board of directors and as executive director, as well as horse owner, trainer, and agent who is very active in Southern California.

Randall Browning, MD, practiced occupational medicine, evaluating and treating work-related illnesses and injuries for over 15 years, and chief of the Division of Occupational Medicine at Tri-City Medical Center in Oceanside, Calif.

Barbara Scurfield, serves on the board of the Race Track Chaplaincy of America/Cal Expo Council, served on numerous other boards and with community organizations, and a history of racing involvement in Northern California.

The directors serve two-year terms. The five additional board members are Noble Threewitt (president), Fariba Ariz, MD, Geri Forrester, Jon S. Kelly, and George Nicholaw. Leonard Dorfman was appointed director emeritus for his years of dedication and service on the CTHF board of directors.

The California Thoroughbred Horsemen's Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit foundation that provides assistance for the backstretch community occupied with the care of Thoroughbred racehorses at California's major race tracks, fair circuits tracks and CHRB recognized off-track training centers. For more information, visit CTHF on the Web at www.cthf.info.