Miesque's Approval Set to Pop in Firecracker

Live Oak Plantation's Miesque's Approval, an upset winner over NetJets Breeders' Cup Mile (gr. IT) winner Artie Schiller in his most recent start, is the prohibitive favorite in a field of seven older turf runners in the $250,000-added Firecracker Breeders' Cup Handicap (gr. IIT) at Churchill Downs Saturday.

Miesque's Approval invades from Calder Race Course for trainer Martin Wolfson in the one-mile event on the Matt Winn Turf Course.

The 7-year-old has been given a rest since he rallied to nip Artie Schiller by a nose in Keeneland's Maker's Mark Mile (gr. IIT) in April. The son of Miesque's Son ran for a $50,000 claiming tag in New York as recently as November. But he came to life over the winter and scored a 48-1 upset in the $500,000-added Sunshine Millions Turf and ran a close second to multiple grade I winner English Channel in the Canadian Turf Handicap, both at Gulfstream Park. He has won nine of 35 races and earned $1,189,474.

Eddie Castro will ride Miesque's Approval, who will carry high weight of 120 pounds and is the 4-5 choice.

Therecomesatiger, trained by Tom Proctor, is the 4-1 second choice in the morning line. Leading jockey Rafael Bejarano will ride the son of Tiger Ridge at 116 pounds.

Therecomesatiger won the Commonwealth Turf last fall at Churchill Downs in his only start over the Matt Winn Turf Course. He returned from a break of nearly six months with a disappointing fifth-place finish in the Mister Gus overnight handicap at Arlington Park on May 29.

Place Cowboy invades from Northern California for trainer James Cassidy and will be ridden by red-hot jockey Calvin Borel. The Irish-bred, English-raced import ran seventh in the 2005 Woodford Reserve Turf Classic (gr. IT) at Churchill Downs after setting the early pace.

Gigiwatt won Calder's Miami Mile Breeders' Cup (gr. IIIT).

$250,000 Firecracker Breeders' Cup (gr. IIT), 3 & Up, 1 Mile (Turf)
PP. Horse (weight), Jockey, ML Odds
1. Miesque's Approval (120), Eddie Castro, 4-5
2. Place Cowboy (116), Calvin Borel, 5-1
3. Free Thinking (115), Julien Leparoux, 6-1
4. Gigawatt (115), Larry Melancon, 8-1
5. On The Border (115), Dean Sarvis, 15-1
6. Therecomesatiger (116), Rafael Bejarano, 4-1
7. Thunder Mission (113), John Jacinto, 20-1