Thirteen Elected to Breeders' Cup Board of Trustees

Breeders' Cup has announced the names of the 13 individuals elected to its board of trustees and members for three-year terms beginning Aug. 1.

Of the 21 candidates, the following were elected in a voting process based on foal nominations and stallion fees:

John Amerman (Amerman Racing/Peacefield Farm)
Boyd Browning Jr. (Fasig-Tipton Co.)
Alice Chandler (Mill Ridge Farm)
Donald Dizney (Double Diamond Farm)
B. Wayne Hughes (Spendthrift Farm)
Tom Ludt (Vinery)
Clem Murphy (Coolmore Stud)
Ogden Mills Phipps (Phipps Stable)
Dan Pride (Darley at Jonabell)
Satish Sanan (Padua Stables)
Richard Santulli (Jayeff B Stables)
John G. Sikura (Hill 'n' Dale Farms)
Frank Stronach (Stronach Stables/Adena Springs)

Given the ongoing uncertainty over the relationship between Breeders' Cup and the National Thoroughbred Racing Association and concerns over how money is spent under a joint operating agreement, the election was said to be hotly contested with behind-the-scenes lobbying.

Candidates that didn't make the top 13 were Reynolds Bell Jr., J. William Boniface, Alex Campbell Jr., David DiPietro, Thomas Gaines, John Greely III, Trudy McCaffery, and John Ward Jr. The candidates re-elected to the board are Chandler, Hughes, Phipps, Sanan, Santulli and Stronach.

The election results were confirmed June 27 by Crowe Chizek and Co., a Lexington accounting firm with offices in eight other states, and are expected to be ratified by the current Breeders' Cup board of members and trustees at its annual meeting scheduled in July.

"Our foal and stallion nominators have chosen an excellent group of individuals to serve on the Breeders' Cup board of members and trustees," Breeders' Cup president D.G. Van Clief Jr. said in a statement. "We look forward to utilizing their guidance and experience on a wide range of issues affecting the Breeders' Cup and the Thoroughbred industry."

The board of trustees and members consists of 46 individuals. Thirteen seats are up each year on a three-year rotation; the other seven seats are for founding members who remain on the board indefinitely. The founding members are the past president of Breeders' Cup, currently James "Ted" Bassett III; Spendthrift Farm (Brownell Combs); Lane's End Farm (Will Farish); Claiborne Farm (Jim Friess); Brereton Jones; John T.L. Jones Jr.; and John Nerud.

In January, the board approved amendments to the articles of incorporation and changes in the bylaws that authorized a new board of directors and the reconstitution of the 46-member board as the board of the members and trustees. Members and trustees are now elected by the current voting system based on Breeders' Cup foal and stallion nominations.

On Jan. 8, the board of members and trustees elected a new 13-person board of directors that oversees the activities of the corporation. The board of members and trustees will meet at least once a year for the election of members to the board of directors.

Members of the board of directors are Antony Beck of Gainesway Farm; Robert Clay of Three Chimneys Farm; Bill Farish Jr. of Lane's End Farm (chairman); Tracy Farmer of Shadowlawn Farm; Terry Finley of West Point Thoroughbreds; Friess; R.D. Hubbard, an owner/breeder and racetrack owner; Hughes; G. Watts Humphrey Jr. of Shawnee Farm; Robert Manfuso of Chanceland Farm; Phipps; Sanan; and Joseph Shields Jr. of Shields Thoroughbreds.