Lukas' Pegasus Wind Debuts in Bashford Manor

Circular Quay, an easy winner for trainer Todd Pletcher in his lone start, and unbeaten Chace City, the Steve Asmussen-trained winner of the $125,000 Victoria Stakes at Canada's Woodbine, head a field of eight horses entered for Saturday's $150,000-added Bashford Manor Stakes (gr. III) at Churchill Downs.

The race includes a wild card in Robert Baker and William Mack's Pegasus Wind, who will make his racing debut for trainer D. Wayne Lukas.

The six-furlong Bashford Manor is co-featured with the $100,000-added Debutante (gr. III) on an 11-race program. The Bashford Manor is scheduled as the day's 10th race, while the Debutante will be run as the 8th race. Post time for the first race is 1:15 p.m. (EDT).

Michael Tabor's Circular Quay (pronounced "kee"), the morning line favorite at 2-1, is a son of Tabor's 1995 Kentucky Derby (gr. I) winner Thunder Gulch. He romped to a 6 ¼-length victory in his racing debut at Churchill Downs and will be ridden in the Bashford Manor by Rafael Bejarano.

Al Gold's Chace City (3-1), a son of Carson City bred by Hermitage Farm in Goshen, Ky., launched his career for Asmussen with a victory in a Kentucky Derby Day maiden race. Next he traveled to Toronto's Woodbine, where he romped to a 5 ¼-length victory in the five-furlong Victoria Stakes.

Shaun Bridgmohan will ride Chace City, who will attempt to give Asmussen his second victory in the Bashford Manor.

Pegasus Wind (5-1), a son of 2000 Derby winner Fusaichi Pegasus , is the only first-time starter in the field for the Bashford Manor. Lukas, who has won the race a record five times, hands the reins to apprentice Julien Leparoux.

Other contenders include Patricia Blass' Run Alex Run (5-2) and Willmott Stable's Shermanesque (8-1), both impressive winners in their lone career starts.

$150,000 Bashford Manor Stakes (gr. III), 2-Year-Olds, 6 Furlongs
# Horse (Weight), Jockey, ML odds
1. Chace City (122), Shaun Bridgmohan, 3-1
2. Shermanesque (118), Brice Blanc, 8-1
3. Mister Cugat (118), Joddie Fortner, 30-1
4. Elite Squadron (116), Corey Lanerie, 20-1
5. Teuflesberg (116), Robby Albarado, 20-1
6. Pegasus Wind (116), Julien Leparoux, 5-1
7. Run Alex Run (118), John McKee, 5-2
8. Circular Quay (119), Rafael Bejarano, 2-1