Larry Smith Re-Elected TTA President

Edited press release

Larry Smith, the owner and operator of Hidden Valley Thoroughbreds in Pilot Point, Texas, was re-elected to serve a third term as the president of the Texas Thoroughbred Association during the TTA annual conference and awards banquet, which was held at the Horseshoe Bay Resort Marriott July 21-22.

In addition to being named president of the 2,200-member association, Smith received the Allen Bogan Memorial Award. Formerly the Member of the Year Award, the name of this trophy was changed in 1997 to honor legendary Texas turf writer Allen Bogan, who passed away that year. Bogan was formerly the longtime editor of the Denton Record-Chronicle and also of the Texas Thoroughbred, the official publication of the TTA.

The Allen Bogan Memorial Award is presented to the TTA member whose efforts and contributions to the association and the Texas Thoroughbred industry during the preceding calendar year most helped further the goals of the TTA and racing in the state. Smith has dedicated countless hours during his tenure as president to efforts to push for the legalization of video lottery terminals at Texas racetracks.

The executive committee of the TTA board of directors for 2006-2007 will include Gene Palmieri as first vice president, Bill Heiligbrodt as second vice president, and Bill Clifton as secretary/treasurer. Ed Few, Dr. Jackie Rich, and Dr. Ken Quirk will serve as at-large members and immediate past president, John Adger, will stay on in an advisory capacity.