Horse Farm Workers' Education Assistance Fund Awards Scholarships

Edited press release

The Horse Farm Workers' Education Assistance Fund has awarded 29 scholarships for the 2006-2007 school year to children of full-time Central Kentucky Thoroughbred breeding farm workers.

The scholarships are for education after high school and are based upon need, merit, essays, and personal interviews. To date, 305 scholarships (averaging nearly $2,000 each) have been awarded since the fund's inception in 1996. Fifty-five Farm Workers' Scholars have graduated from college and or technical programs, several with honors and one as a 4.0 valedictorian.

"These scholars are an amazing group of young people," said Rob Whiteley, president of the fund. "I wish to thank all of the contributors who have generously supported and valued this remarkable group of young scholars. Horse farm workers are the backbone of the Thoroughbred industry, and these scholars are a source of pride to their parents, as well as to those of us who care about the Thoroughbred industry."

The 2006-2007 Horse Farm Workers' Education Assistance scholars and the schools they will be attending are as follows:

Stefanie Clines – Eastern Kentucky University
Lauren Covert – Transylvania University
Brandy Graves – Morehead State University
Amanda Hendricks – University of Georgia
William Highland – Eastern Kentucky University
Salena Kilburn – Eastern Kentucky University
Gus Koch – University of Kentucky
Patrick Layton – Texas A. and M.
Ryan Lynn – Bluegrass Community & Technical College
Mariano Moreno – Bluegrass Community & Technical College
Jessica Oldham – North American Racing Academy
Andrea Palicki – University of Kentucky
Christopher Powell – Murray State University
Paul Pryor – Eastern Kentucky University
Amanda Rhodus – Eastern Kentucky University
Kellie Riggs – Bluegrass Community & Technical College
Elizabeth Roberts - Elon University
Lindsey Ronca – Kentucky State University
Lyndsay Sams – Eastern Kentucky University
Nicholas Spalding – Georgetown College
Felix Spittler – University of Louisville
Kathryn Spittler – University of Wittenberg
Scott Toadvine – Eastern Kentucky University
Jose Villanueva – University of Kentucky
Jacob Winters – Bluegrass Community & Technical College
Sarah Winters – University of Kentucky
Brendan Zahn – University of Kentucky
Lindsay Zahn – Eastern Kentucky University
Elizabeth Zajic – Eastern Kentucky University

In addition to Whiteley, who is owner of Liberation Farm, board members include treasurer and co-founder Tom Evans of Trackside Farm, co-founder Fred Seitz of Brookdale Farm, John Stuart of Bluegrass Thoroughbred Services, John Sikura of Hill 'n' Dale Farm, Dan Pride of Darley at Jonabell, Dr. Chet Blackey, D.G. Van Clief of Fasig-Tipton, and Judge Wilson of Wyatt, Tarrant, and Combs. Carl Pollard of Hermitage Farm serves as an informal advisor, and Muffy Stuart is the executive director.

The scholarship fund is run on a volunteer basis and virtually all monies flow through to recipients. Tax deductible contributions may be made to the Horse Farm Workers' Education Assistance Fund, 2938 Four Pines Drive, Lexington, KY 40502-2969.