Rescheduled Kent BC 'Cap Tops Delaware Owners' Day

The $500,000 Kent Breeders' Cup Stakes (gr. III), washed out Sept. 2 and rescheduled, is the centerpiece of a power-packed Delaware Park program Sept. 9 when the racetrack holds its 14th Delaware Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association Owners' Day.

The 14-race card, which includes one Arabian race, offers almost $1.4 million in purses. First post is set for noon EDT.

The Kent, for 3-year-olds at 1 1/8 miles on the turf, has attracted After Market, who is undefeated in four career starts, all on the grass. Owned by Martin and Pam Wygod and trained by Bill Mott, After Market is the 8-5 morning-line choice in a field of 12. There are two alternates in case of scratches.

Rock Lobster, one of the colts that drew into the body of race, just won the Saranac Stakes (gr. IIIT) at Saratoga Sept. 3.

Co-feature on the program is the $200,000 Endine Handicap (gr. III) for fillies and mares, 3-year-olds and up, at six furlongs. The race has attracted nine entrants, including the Larry Jones-trained pair of Hello Liberty and Miss Elsie.

The Delaware THA Owners' Day was formed to reward owners who participate in the racing program at Delaware Park. Purses are augmented on the special program; for instance, an entry-level allowance race will go for $63,000, a maiden special weight event for $60,000, and a starter allowance test for $46,000.

There are two other stakes on the program as well, both for horses that have started at Delaware Park in 2006. They are the $100,000 George Rosenberger Memorial Stakes for fillies and mares and the DTHA Owners' Day Handicap for 3-year-olds and up.

Here's the field for the Kent Breeders' Cup, with riders:

Sir Classic Chris (Jose Caraballo)
Diabolical (Mario Pino)
Mercurius (no rider)
Brilliant (Mark Guidry)
Sea Of Trees (Jeremy Rose)
Act Of God (no rider)
Carnera (Eibar Coa)
Rock Lobster (Jose Caraballo)
Yankee Master (no rider)
Silent Roar (Stewart Elliott)
After Market (Fernando Jara)
Presious Passion (Stewart Elliott)


Kip Deville (Ramon Dominguez)
Spider Power (Jose Santos)

Here's the field for the Endine Handicap, with riders:

Annika Lass (Jeremy Rose)
Ebony Breeze (John Jacinto)
Miraculous Miss (Ramon Dominguez)
Hot Storm (Mark Guidry)
Hello Liberty (Fernando Jara)
Coli Bear (Eibar Coa)
Gilded Gold (Roberto Alvarado Jr.)
Miss Elsie (Mario Pino)
Thats Our Song (Stewart Elliott)

Coli Bear and Miraculous Miss are coupled; Hello Liberty and Miss Elsie are coupled