Kling, Yon, and Jackson Appointed to KHRA Board

The terms of three Kentucky Horse Racing Authority board members have expired and their successors were announced at the organization's monthly meeting Nov. 20 at the Kentucky Horse Park.

Chairman William Street started the session by recognizing former members John Cashman, Tom Handy, and Jack Steinman, then welcoming new additions Franklin Kling, Jerry Yon, and Kenneth Alan Jackson.

The new members were appointed by Gov. Ernie Fletcher, who also reappointed five members to the panel.

"All three (past members) have been wonderful contributors, very helpful, and I certainly want to recognize them in a positive way," Street said in a statement.

Street then announced the new appointees: Jackson, a Lexington lawyer and horse farm owner; Kling, a Villa Hills, Ky. businessman; and Yon, a Lexington physician. While the terms of Jackson and Yon expire Jan. 6, 2008, Kling was appointed to a term ending Jan. 6, 2009.

Reappointed to the authority were Thoroughbred owner and breeder Larry Telle of Louisville, veteran horseman Kerry Cauthen of Lexington, attorney Connie Whitfield of Hopkinsville, Vinery Stud co-manager and Breeders' Cup board member Tom Ludt of Nicholasville, and Claiborne Farm co-owner Waddell "Dell" Hancock of Paris.

While Telle's term ends Jan. 6, 2008, the terms of the other three reappointed authority members will expire Jan. 6 of the next year.
The next KHRA meeting will be Dec. 11.