Finalists Named for George Woolf Award

(from Santa Anita release)
Jockeys Jon Court, Victor Espinoza, Roberto Gonzalez, Aaron Gryder and Mario Pino are finalists for the prestigious George Woolf Memorial Jockey Award, Santa Anita Park announced Dec. 13.

Created by Santa Anita in 1950 and named for the legendary Hall of Fame jockey George (The Iceman) Woolf, Santa Anita will be hosting the event for the 57th consecutive year this coming spring.

The Woolf Award honors the memory of one of the greatest big-money riders of all time and is one of the most coveted awards in all of Thoroughbred horse racing.

The Woolf Award has honored jockeys whose careers and personal character have withstood the personal and professional challenges inherent in Thoroughbred racing.