T. Boone Pickens, Madeleine Pickens to Receive Equine Advocates Award

(Edited press release)

T. Boone Pickens and Madeleine Pickens will receive the Equine Advocates' Safe Home Equine Protection Award for their work to end horse slaughter in the United States. The couple will be honored at a dinner and charity auction at Stone Bridge Farm near Schuylerville, N.Y., Aug. 2. 

The work of the couple in 2006 resulted in the successful passage of the American Horse Slaughter Prevention Act in the House of Representatives Sept. 7. 

Though the legislation fell short of becoming law when no motion was made to bring the bill to the Senate floor for a vote before adjournment, the bill has been reintroduced this year. The Pickens' remain committed to passing a federal ban.

"While we are grateful for this award, we fully understand and appreciate the grassroots involvement and support all that raised the curtain and helped expose this horrible practice," the couple said in a joint statement. "The widespread effort to bring an end to horse slaughter made a real difference, but it is important that we continue an all-out push in Congress to win an outright legislative ban on the slaughter of horses. We still have work to do, and we will remain committed to this important cause."

T. Boone is known as the philanthropic Texas oilman who founded BP Capital in 1996 after leaving Mesa Petroleum, the energy company he founded and built into one of the nation’s largest independent oil and gas companies. A Thoroughbred owner and breeder, Madeleine raced Cigar and several other champions.

"We are thrilled to be able to honor these two very special people who have dedicated their energies to stopping this cruel, inhumane, and un-American practice," said Susan Wagner, president of Equine Advocates. "Those who slaughter horses are in the minority and are defying the will of the vast majority of Americans. It is time for that to change."

Previous recipients of this award include Herb and Ellen Moelis (2002); Gary Biszantz (2003); John Hettinger (2004); D.G. Van Clief, Jr. (2005); and Staci and Arthur Hancock (2006).