NTRA's Horse PAC Annual Report Released; Board Changes Announced

(Edited press release)

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association March 28 released the 2006 Annual Report for its Political Action Committee, Horse PAC.

According to the annual report, 2006 Horse PAC receipts totaled $369,323, the second-highest total since the PAC was activated in 2002, and a 4% increase over 2005 figures. Horse PAC disbursements in 2006 were a record $360,000. Based on overall annual contributions, Horse PAC is the largest gaming PAC in the United States.

New to the PAC Board in 2007 is owner/breeder Tracy Farmer, who has replaced Ben Haggin. William S. Farish, Jr., has returned for 2007 as Horse PAC board chairman.

Other returning board members are Antony Beck, Case Clay, Laura D’Angelo, Robert Elliston, Terrence Finley, Lucy Hamilton, John Harris, F. Jack Liebau, Jr., Wilhelmina McEwan, Terence Meyocks, Anthony Perrotta, Jr., Anne Poulson, and Joseph Shields, Jr. 

Peggy Hendershot, NTRA vice president of legislative and corporate planning, has been appointed as Horse PAC president, replacing Breeders’ Cup President and CEO Greg Avioli.

The annual report is available online at www.SupportHorseRacing.org and will be mailed to Horse PAC contributors.

“The Horse PAC achieved significant success in 2006, including the passage of the landmark Internet Gambling Prohibition and Enforcement Act with specific protections for account and Internet wagering on pari-mutuel horse racing,” said Hendershot. “Continued support in 2007 will ensure that the Thoroughbred industry’s powerbase in Washington continues to grow.”

In early 2007, total contributions to Horse PAC topped the $1.5 million mark. Through the end of 2006, Horse PAC had raised $1,495,366.

Horse PAC is the Federal Political Action Committee of the NTRA. The committee was activated in 2002 to promote and facilitate the accumulation of voluntary contributions from members of the NTRA and its subsidiaries and affiliates for the support of political parties and candidates for elective office in the United States.