Lone Star Park to Recognize Hall of Fame Class

A foundation class of 14 will be enshrined in the new Lone Star Park Hall of Fame April 21—as part of the year long celebration of Lone Star Park at Grand Prairie's 10th anniversary. Lone Star Park's spring Thoroughbred season opens for a 16-week run April 12 and will continue through July 29.

The Hall of Fame class includes 1997 horse of the meeting Anet; former Lone Star Park all-time win leader and 1997 leading jockey Ronald Ardoin; Lone Star Park's eight-time leading trainer and all-time win leader Steve Asmussen; Quarter Horse trainer Jack Brooks, who saddled six winners in the Texas Classics; three-time Eclipse Award-winning trainer Bob Baffert, who has won Lone Star Park stakes races with major players;  regular customer and horseplayer J.S. "Ponti" Campagna; original Lone Star Park investors the Trammell Crow family; four-time leading owner Tom Durant; Grand Prairie Mayor Charles England; former Lone Star Park president Corey S. Johnsen; Texas Thoroughbred and Quarter Horse owners and breeders Jim and Marilyn Helzer; former Lone Star Park chairman Robert L. Kaminski; Kool Kue Baby, winner of a 25 AQHA stakes races; and Mocha Express, the 1998 horse of the meet and two-time Lone Star Park Handicap winner.

The foundation class will be permanently enshrined with raised letters above the saddling area in Lone Star Park's paddock April 21.

"The creation of the new Lone Star Park Hall of Fame is a perfect complement to our year long celebration of Lone Star Park at Grand Prairie's 10th anniversary," said Darren Rogers director of communications at Lone Star Park. "This outstanding foundation class, whose accomplishments and reputations will withstand the test of time, will set the standard for all future inductees."

Most Popular Stories