Borel, Albarado Among ESPY Nominees for Top Jockey

Borel, Albarado Among ESPY Nominees for Top Jockey
Photo: Alexander Barkoff
Derby Winner Calvin Borel has been nominated for an ESPY.
Calvin Borel, regular rider of Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands (gr. I) winner Street Sense, and Robby Albarado, rider of Preakness Stakes (gr. I) winner Curlin, head up this year’s list of nominees for ESPN’s ESPY Awards in the top jockey category.

The ESPYs gather top celebrities from sports and entertainment to commemorate the past year in sports by recognizing major sports achievements, reliving unforgettable moments and saluting the leading performers and performances. The 2007 ESPYs will include both sport-specific awards such as Best MLB Player and Best WNBA Player as well as “Best in Sport” awards, categories that pit different sports against each other, such as best team or best female athlete.

Borel, 40, has won 82 races from 553 starts so far this year, with current earnings of $4,988,202 and a 15% win rate. He will best be remembered for his unabashed display of emotion after winning the Kentucky Derby, which he termed “the most greatest moment of my life.” Albarado, 33, has won 145 races from 681 starts, with earnings of $9,165,015 and a 21% win rate putting him second in the national standings. He caught the attention of racing fans this year as he teamed with Curlin to spoil Street Sense’s bid for a Triple Crown after being thrown from his mount in an earlier race.

The other ESPY Top Jockey nominees are John Velazquez, 35, who ranks fourth in the nation by purses won with 118 winners from 525 starters, a 22% win rate and $7,876,136 in earnings, and European rider Frankie Dettori, 36, who won last year’s running of the Breeders’ Cup Filly and Mare Turf (gr. IT) aboard Ouija Board and was the recipient of the Bill Shoemaker Award, presented by members of the media at the Breeders’ Cup press breakfast on the day following the event.

Last year’s ESPY Award winner in the top jockey category was Edgar Prado, rider of Kentucky Derby winner Barbaro.

The inaugural ESPYs were awarded in 1993. This year, ESPN will televise the 15th Annual Sports Celebration from Hollywood’s Kodak Theatre July 15 at 9 p.m. (EST)

Most Popular Stories