Voting for Ohio Champions Expanded

Voting for year-end honors for Thoroughbred racing in Ohio has changed.

The 2007 Ohio Horse of the Year and 14 divisional champions will not only be selected by turf writers and racing secretaries. For the first time, the public and members of the Ohio Thoroughbred Breeders and Owners will be able to vote on the year-end honors.

Gayle Babst, executive director of the OTBO, said the organization’s board of directors approved the plan to have members and the public vote. The organization’s Web site, www.otbo.com, will provide the vehicle for voting.

Winners in each category will be decided by the three different factions (writers and racing secretaries, OTBO members, and the general public), with each choice counting as one vote.

The Ohio Horse of the Year and the divisional champions, known as the “Best of the Buckeyes,” will be honored at a banquet in Columbus in late March. Graded stakes winner Too Much Bling was voted 2006 Ohio Horse of the Year.