Alibi Breakfast Award Winners Announced

Alibi Breakfast Award Winners Announced
Photo: Jeffrey Snyder
Jockey Mario Pino will be Honorary Postmaster for Preakness 133 Station.
(from Maryland Jockey Club release)
Turf writer Sean Clancy, photographer Brandon Benson, columnist Dick Jerardi, and sports producer Mike Pupo will be honored by the Maryland Jockey Club with this year's Preakness media awards during the annual Alibi Breakfast May 15 at Pimlico's Terrace Dining Room.

The ceremony is scheduled for 9:30 a.m. two days prior to the middle jewel of the Triple Crown, the $1-million Preakness Stakes (gr. I).

For the third time in the last five years Clancy is to receive the David F. Woods Award—this year for his spellbinding feature in Mid-Atlantic Thoroughbred on Curlin’s thrilling victory over Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands (gr. I) winner Street Sense  . The Woods Award honors the best Preakness story for the previous year. Clancy, who also won honors in 2004 and 2007, joins Jay Hovdey (1992, 1997, and 1998) as the only three-time winner of the award, which debuted in 1982.

Mid-Atlantic Thoroughbred photographer Brandon Benson is the winner of the Jerry Frutkoff Preakness Photo Award, sponsored by Nikon. Benson captured the battle between Curlin and Street Sense at the top of the stretch in the Preakness.

The prestigious "Old Hilltop Award" will be bestowed upon veteran Philadelphia Daily News Turf writer Dick Jerardi and WJZ-TV sports producer Mike Pupo for covering Thoroughbred racing with excellence and distinction.

The Special Award of Merit, given to someone who has made a positive impact on the racing industry, was won this year by former MJC executive vice president Karin De Francis.

Since 1996, the United States Postal Service has opened a temporary Preakness station the week of the Preakness. The Honorary Postmaster for Preakness 133 Station is Maryland’s all-time winningest jockey Mario Pino, who became the 15th rider in history to win 6,000 races at Laurel Park on Nov. 7, 2007.

Chris Lincoln will act as the master of ceremonies.

Most Popular Stories