Tattersalls to Offer New Race in Series

Six-furlong event added to Millions program.

A six-furlong, £250,000 event will be added to the Tattersalls Timeform Millions races, which are open to graduates of Book 1 of the 2008 Tattersalls October yearling sale. The new race, which will take place at Newmarket’s Natwest Rowley Mile Racecourse in England in September 2009, will be known as the Tattersalls Timeform Millions Sprint.

The addition of the Sprint will increase the number of races in the Tattersalls Timeform Millions series to four with the total prize money climbing £100,000 to £2,300,000. Tattersalls,  the England-based auction firm, will commit £680,000 to the prize money while also reducing the owners’ entry costs from £10,000 to £6,000.

The £250,000 Tattersalls Timeform Millions Sprint will be fully funded by Tattersalls, as will the ten furlong Tattersalls Timeform 3YO Trophy which will have its prize money reduced from £400,000 to £250,000. Prize money for the flagship Tattersalls Timeform Million and Tattersalls Timeform Fillies’ 800, both run over seven furlongs, will remain at £1 million and £800,000 respectively.