Two Elected to Jockey Club Board

Dell Hancock and D.G. Van Clief Jr. have been elected to the board of stewards of The Jockey Club, filling the positions vacated by Donald R. Dizney and John C. Oxley at the expiration of their four-year terms of office.

Hancock is co-owner of Claiborne Farm in Paris, Ky., and chairman and director of the Grayson-Jockey Club Research Foundation. Hancock, who has been a member of The Jockey Club since 1995 and served a previous term as a steward from 2003-2007, also serves on The Jockey Club’s Thoroughbred Safety Committee.

Van Clief is chairman of Fasig-Tipton Company, a trustee of The Jockey Club Foundation and serves on the board of members and trustees of Breeders’ Cup Ltd., where he previously served as president and executive director. Van Clief was founding chairman of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) and also served stints as its commissioner and CEO as well as its vice chairman. He received the Eclipse Award of Merit in 1998 and was the first recipient of The Jockey Club Medal in 1984. Van Clief has been a member of The Jockey Club since 1991.