Beck, Bell Named to NTRA Board

Reynolds Bell and Antony Beck replace Robert Clay and Bill Heiligbrodt.

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) board of directors met Sept. 11 in Lexington and selected two new board members, Antony Beck of Gainesway Farm and Reynolds Bell Jr., chairman of the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association.

Beck replaces Robert Clay as one of two Breeders’ Cup representatives on the NTRA
Board, and Bell fills the TOBA seat previously occupied by Bill Heiligbrodt.

The board received updates on equine health and safety initiatives, legislative affairs, NTRA Advantage programs, television and marketing—including preparations and planning surrounding the upcoming Breeders’ Cup World Championships.

The racetrack representatives on the board are: Bob Elliston, Turfway Park (executive chairman, NTRA);

Bob Evans, Churchill Downs Inc. Bill Fasy, Delaware Park; Charlie Hayward, New York Racing Association; Jack Liebau, Hollywood Park; Jim McAlpine, Magna Entertainment; and Nick Nicholson, Keeneland Association.

The owner/breeder/horsemen representatives on the board are: Antony Beck, Breeders’ Cup; Reynolds Bell Jr., Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association; Alan Foreman, Thoroughbred Horsemen’s Association; G. Watts Humphrey, Breeders’ Cup; Alan Marzelli, The Jockey Club; Marsha Naify, Thoroughbred Owners of California; and Joe Santanna, Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protective Association.

Also serving on the board is NTRA president and CEO Alex Waldrop.