NYRA Announces Board of Directors

NYRA announces 24 of 25 slots filled for its board of directors.

The New York Racing Association announced Sept. 24 the current composition of its 2008 board of directors. Ten of 11 governmental appointments to the board have been made and all 14 NYRA elected seats have been filled.

Appointed by Governor

Chester F. Broman, director of New York Thoroughbred Breeders’
Michael D. Hess, vice chairman of Giuliani Partners
Denis M. Hughes, president of New York State AFL-CIO
Richard A. Violette, president of New York Thoroughbred Horsemen’s Association
Michael Dubb, founder of Beechwood Organization
Bennett Liebman, executive director of Government Law Center–Albany Law School
Leonard Riggio, chairman of Barnes & Noble Inc.

Appointed by Senate
John R. Hendrickson, president of Marylou Whitney Stables
John J. Nigro, president of Nigro Companies Inc.

Appointed by Assembly
Michael J. DelGiudice, senior managing director of Millennium Credit Market

Elected Members
Dennis Dammerman, C. Steven Duncker, Robert S. Evans, Lucy Young Hamilton, Charles E. Hayward, James P. Heffernan, Stuart S. Janney III, John W. Meriwether, Barry Ostrager, Ogden Mills Phipps, Michael L. Rankowitz, Richard T. Santulli, Peter G. Schiff, and Stuart Subotnick.

An additional Assembly appointment will be made at a later date.