Graded stakes winner Sharp Susan heads the Violet Stakes.

Graded stakes winner Sharp Susan heads the Violet Stakes.

Bill Denver/EQUI-PHOTO

Sharp Susan Heads Violet Handicap Field

Edited press release

Fourteen fillies and mares, including graded stakes winner Sharp Susan, have been entered for the $150,000, grade III Violet Stakes Oct. 17 at the Meadowlands.

Trained by Bill Mott, Sharp Susan leads the charge from post eight for the 1 1/16-mile turf test.  The 4-year-old Touch Gold filly captured the Dr. James Penny Memorial Handicap July 7 at Philadelphia Park and also picked up checks in the Churchill Distaff Turf (gr. IIIT) and Ballston Spa (gr. IIT).  After a six-month layoff, Sharp Susan kicked off her season with a victory over grade III winner Criminologist in an allowance race April 6 at Keeneland.  At three, Sharp Susan won the grade II Lake Placid at Saratoga.  Kentucky -based breeders Kenny Troutt and Bill Casner, who race as WinStar Farm, own the filly. 

Her competition includes Shytoe Lafeet, a stakes winner at Mountaineer, and Cozzi Capital, winner of the Revidere and third in the Matchmaker (gr. IIIT) at Monmouth Park.  Exchanging Fire, who captured the 2007 Honey Bee Handicap at the Meadowlands, is also among the entrants.

The Violet, with a post time of 10:22 p.m., is carded as race eight on a nine-race program that begins at 7 p.m.

The entire field for the Violet, with jockey assignments and trainers, is:

1. American Border, Jason Servis, Jose Lezcano, 117
2. Marie Rossa, Graham Motion, Jeremy Rose, 117
3. All Is Vanity, Christophe Clement, Alan Garcia, 117
4. Paradise Tonight, Joe Pierce Jr., Stewart Elliott, 118
5. Le Cordon Bleu, Michael Gorham, Rajiv Maragh, 117
6. Royalties, John Fisher, Joe Rocco Jr., 117
7. Cozzi Capital, Herman Wilensky, Carlos Marquez Jr. 119
8. Sharp Susan, Bill Mott, Joe Bravo, 121
9. Snow Cone, Joe Orseno, Eddie Castro, 117
10. Seeking An Angel, Alan Goldberg, Chuck Lopez, 117
11. Exchanging Fire, Stephen Mick, Eddie King, Jr., 117
12. Shytoe Lafeet, Larry Jones, Gabriel Saez, 121
13. Audacious Chloe, Todd Pletcher, Chris Decarlo, 117