John Engelhardt, new president of the Turf Publicists of America

John Engelhardt, new president of the Turf Publicists of America

Courtesy of John Engelhardt

TPA Elects Officers for 2009

The TPA elects a new president, regional vice presidents, secretary-treasurer

(Edited press release)

The Turf Publicists of America has elected a new president, four regional vice presidents, and a secretary-treasurer to serve the organization in 2009, it was announced Dec. 9 at the TPA’s Mark Kaufman Workshop at the University of Arizona Symposium on Racing and Gaming.

President John Engelhardt of River Downs, vice president-Eastern Mike Kane of the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame, vice president-Central Dan Leary of Lone Star Park, and vice president at large Wendy Davis of the University of Arizona Race Track Industry Program are all newly elected. They will join vice president-Western Julie Sarno, a consultant, and secretary-treasurer Dave Zenner of Arlington Park, both of whom were re-elected for the coming year.

Engelhardt, who had served as vice president-Central last year, succeeds Eric Wing of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association after his term as president of the TPA expired.

Both Engelhardt and Zenner will serve two-year terms and the four vice presidents were elected to terms of one year each. The new slate of officers was installed immediately.