Texas 2008 Champions Announced

John Adger won the T.I. "Pops" Harkins award, while Stealth Cat was Horse of the Year

The Texas Thoroughbred Association honored its top performers of 2008 at its annual Horse Racing/Breeding Conference and Annual Meeting in Dallas Jan. 9-10. The winner of the prestigious T.I. "Pops" Harkins award went to John Adger, racing manager of Bob and Janice McNair’s Stonerside, which was purchased by Sheikh Mohammed’s Darley last year.

Stonerside bred last year’s Breeders’ Cup Classic (gr. I) winner Raven’s Pass, who is owned by Princess Haya and Darley. The Harkins award is presented to the TTA member whose efforts and contributions to the association and the industry have helped to further the goals of the TTA. The award is not required each year, but is discretionary on the part of the TTA awards committee and board of directors.

Stealth Cat, bred by James Kenney and Jann Jones, and owned by J. Kirk Robison, was named 2008 Texas Horse of the Year and champion older female. The daughter of Magic Cat—Dixie’s Integrity, by Mr. Integrity, won five of 11 starts last year, including the $100,000 Valid Expectations Stakes at Lone Star Park. She finished the year with earnings of $213,836.

Other Texas-bred champions:

Bridesmaid, 2-year-old filly
(Valid Expectations—Bridal Tea, by Gulch)
Breeders: W.S. Farish, James Elkins & BCWT Ltd.

Valid Message, 2-year-old male
(Valid Expectations—Templemartin, by Wolf Power)
Breeder: Ed Few
Owner: H and H Ranch

Formal Flyer, 3-year-old female
(Early Flyer—Formal Companion, by Black Tie Affair)
Breeder/Owner: John Silverthorne Ranch

Ablaze With Spirit, 3-year-old male
(American Spirit—Ablazing Grace, by Wekiva Springs)
Breeder: Donald Dizney
Owner: Heiligbrodt Racing Stable

Scrappy Roo, older male
(Roo Art—Dance’s Lyph, by King Lyph)
Breeders: Dr. David Taylor
Owner: Tawana Cantrell

Dixie’s Integrity, broodmare
Owners: James Kenney and Jann Jones

O My Darlin Diane, claimer
(Uncle Abbie—Sexy Jackie, by W.D. Jacks)
Breeders; Larry Binnion
Owner: Henry Witt Jr.
Other Awards:

Dr. David Stephens, Allen Bogan Memorial Award

Clarence Scharbauer Jr., leading money-earner owner/breeder from the Accredited Texas-bred Incentive Funds in 2008

Donald Dizney, breeder

Supreme Cat, freshman sire