TVG to Air Eclipse Awards Ceremony

Network will broadcast live from Miami Beach.

TVG will again broadcast the Eclipse Awards live, the network announced Jan. 12. The awards ceremony, honoring racing’s champions of 2008, will be held Jan. 26 in Miami Beach, Fla. 

Coverage of the event will begin at 7 p.m. (EST) and be hosted by Todd Schrupp, Simon Bray, and Jill Byrne. 

"We’re delighted that TVG will once again bring the excitement and prestige of the Eclipse Awards into homes across the country and around the world," National Thoroughbred Racing Association president and CEO Alex Waldrop said in a release. "The telecast makes the evening far more special by allowing our fans to share in the celebration of the sport’s brightest stars."

Finalists for all categories were announced Jan. 8 except for Horse of the Year, which will not be announced until the ceremony. Most observers expect the Horse of the Year finalists to be 2007 Horse of the Year Curlin, unbeaten Zenyatta, and classic winner Big Brown.

In addition, the "NTRA Moment of the Year" will be announced during the ceremony.