The Eclipse Awards will be presented at a ceremony Jan. 26.

The Eclipse Awards will be presented at a ceremony Jan. 26.

Anne M. Eberhardt

Eclipse Winners to be Announced Today

Curlin, Zenyatta, and Big Brown are leading contenders for Horse of the Year.

The anticipation for many owners, breeders, trainers, jockeys and their connections will soon be over as the Eclipse Awards for Thoroughbred racing champions of 2008 will be announced Jan. 26 at a ceremony in Miami, Fla. The ceremony and dinner begin at 7 p.m. and will be televised live by the TVG network.

The names and complete profiles of each winner will  be posted at as they are announced.

The Horse of the Year race is expected to be between last year's winner, Curlin, and unbeaten Zenyatta. Other sentiment has been heard for Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands (gr. I) and Preakness Stakes (gr. I) winner Big Brown.

The Eclipse Awards are voted on by three groups: The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, National Turf Writers Association, and Daily Racing Form.

The Eclipse Awards finalists (in alphabetical order) are:
Two-Year-Old Male: Midshipman , Old Fashioned, Vineyard Haven
Two-Year-Old Filly: Dream Empress, Maram, Stardom Bound   
Three-Year-Old Male: Big Brown, Colonel John, Raven's Pass
Three-Year-Old Filly: Eight Belles, Music Note, Proud Spell
Older Male: Commentator, Curlin, Einstein
Older Female: Cocoa Beach, Ginger Punch, Zenyatta
Male Sprinter: Benny the Bull, Midnight Lute , Street Boss 
Female Sprinter: Indian Blessing, Intangaroo, Ventura
Male Turf Horse: Conduit, Einstein, Grand Couturier
Female Turf Horse: Cocoa Beach, Forever Together, Goldikova
Steeplechase Horse: Be Certain, Good Night Shirt, Sovereign Duty 
Owner: Godolphin Racing, IEAH Stables, Stronach Stables  
Breeder: Adena Springs, Stonerside Stable, WinStar Farm
Trainer: Steve Asmussen, Richard Dutrow, Jr., Bobby Frankel
Jockey: Robby Albarado, Rafael Bejarano, Garrett Gomez
Apprentice Jockey: Inez Karlsson, Pascacio Lopez, Abel Mariano