Catlaunch Notches Multiple OTBO Awards

The gelding won awards for Horse of the Year, handicap male, and accredited male.

(Edited press release)

The Ohio Thoroughbred Breeders and Owners held its annual awards banquet honoring the 2008 Ohio Horse of the Year and divisional champions Jan. 17 at the Darby House, Darby Dan Farm near Galloway, Ohio. 
Ron Fields of Scioto Farm Supply in Chillicothe received the awards for Horse of the Year, handicap horse, and accredited male champion for Catlaunch, who he bred and owns. 

Fields also received the award for Skilaunch, who was named Ohio’s leading broodmare, and The Blood-Horse magazine award for breeding Catlaunch.

Other divisional awards went to:

Tim Hamm, owner

Raise the Reward, 2-year-old male
Owners: Blazing Meadow Farm and Brian Broll
Trainer: Tim Hamm
Breeder: Pat Hershey

Type A Personality, 3-year-old male
Owner/breeder: Elisabeth Alexander
Trainer: Eric Reed

Money Card, accredited female champion
Breeder: Elisabeth Alexander
Owner/trainer: Shirley Girten Drake
Eye Cant Look Back, 3-year-old female
Owner/breeder: Dr. Randall Blevins
Trainer: Gary King
Pay the Man, handicap female
Owner/breeder: Dr. D.W. Frazier’s Pyrite Stables
Trainer: Miguel Feliciano

Slides Choice, 2-year-old female
Owner: Mary Crawford
Trainer: Tim Hamm
Breeders: Mary Crawford and Stephen Cronenwett

PforPerfectsPistol, sprinter
Owner: Sharen Hunter
Trainer: Gary King
Breeder: Dr. Ted Classen

Tom Archdeacon, special recognition male
Owners: George Smith and John Royer
Trainer: Austin Smith
Breeders: George Smith, Dr. Wil Johnston, and J.W. Berry

Mercer Mill, stallion

The OTBO also held its election for trustees to the board at an earlier membership meeting. Elected for three-year terms were: Elisabeth Alexander, Tim Hamm, Ronald Fields, Thomas McCann, and Kimpton Williams. Officers elected by the board were: Tim Hamm, president; David Inglis, vice president, Dennis Heebink, treasurer; and Gary Aiken, secretary.