Kentucky-breds Honored by KTOB/KTA

Annual awards ceremony held at Keeneland.

Trackside Farm owner Tom Evans said he was going to take the award he and his partners received April 22 and put it in a barn on his farm near Versailles, Ky. “I want my staff to see it and enjoy it. The industry has recognized them for their efforts,” he said.

In a ceremony at Keeneland, the Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders and Kentucky Thoroughbred Association recognized Evans and others for achievements in 2008. Evans and Macon Wilmil Equines (Dr. Ted Forrest) and Marjac Farm (Rich Burke) were recognized for Midnight Lute  being named Kentucky-bred champion sprinter.

Other winners also expressed deep sentiment in being honored. Don Robinson of Winter Quarter Farm accepted two awards for breeder Eric Kronfeld. Robinson raised champion Kentucky-bred handicap mare Zenyatta. “This means a lot because she is the best horse I will ever be around,” Robinson said. Later when accepting the award for broodmare of the year for Zenyatta’s dam, Vertigineux, Robinson said, “It is the deepest satisfaction to have a mare like this (on the farm). I raised her and her granddam is buried on the farm.”

The other Kentucky-bred champions honored were: 2-year-old filly, Stardom Bound, Fletcher and Carolyn Gray and John Youngblood; 2-year-old colt, Midshipman , Stonerside Stable; 3-year-old colt, Big Brown , Monticule (Dr. Gary Knapp); 3-year-old filly, Proud Spell, Brereton Jones; handicap horse, Curlin , Fares Farm (Issam Fares); turf horse, Dancing Forever, Phipps Stable; turf female, Forever Together, White Fox Farm (Dewey and Karen White); steeplechase horse, Sovereign Duty, Bill Farish; and racing abroad, Henrythenavigator, Western Bloodstock.

The Horse of the Year honors went to Curlin.

Other awards handed out were: sire of the year,Distorted Humor , WinStar Farm; earner of the year, Timbucto, Milbert Collins; owners of the year, Richard, Bertram, and Elaine Klein; trainer of the year, Rusty Arnold; and breeder of the year, Overbrook Farm.

Stonerside received the P.A.B. Widener Trophy as breeder of the year, and filmmakers Brad and John Hennegan were named winners of the Charles W. Engelhard Awards for outstanding coverage of the industry.

The largest ovation was for former Keeneland president and chairman James E. “Ted” Bassett III, who was presented the William T. Young Humanitarian Award.