Voting Under Way for BC Board of Trustees

Breeders' Cup is using a new system for its elections this year.

Twenty-five individuals are on the ballot for 13 positions on the Breeders’ Cup board of members and trustees in an election that will be handled differently this year.

On June 1, ballots were sent to current Breeders’ Cup foal and stallion nominators to begin the election process. Of the 25 candidates on the ballot, nine are standing for re-election. Each elected member and trustee will serve a three-year term. Look at the end of this story for links to the candidates' biographies.

A new election process, explained in a Breeders’ Cup memorandum, began in April, when nominators were mailed a letter containing a customer login and pass code to access an election Web site. Paper ballots also were made available.

The service True Ballot is managing online voting from June 1-15. The Web site is available through 5 p.m. EDT June 15; written ballots must be postmarked by June 15. The results will be tabulated June 22.

After the members and trustees have been elected, they will cast ballots for the Breeders’ Cup board of directors. Trustees will be faxed and e-mailed login information for that vote; names of candidates must be submitted by June 30.

Breeders’ Cup officials said nominations for the board of directors will not be taken from the floor during the July 9 annual meeting. Members and trustees not planning to attend the July 9 meeting can vote electronically from July 1-8.

Six terms on the board of directors end in July 2009. Those seats are held by Reynolds Bell Jr., Don Dizney, Tracy Farmer, Don Robinson, G. Watts Humphrey, and Robert Manfuso. Robinson is serving the remainder of the term of B. Wayne Hughes, who stepped down.

Trustees are elected annually by Breeders’ Cup foal and stallion nominators through a proportional shareholder voting system based on the level of nominations paid to the organization. The board of members and trustees meets each July for the election of members to the 13-person Breeders’ Cup board of directors, which oversees the activities of the organization.

The 25 candidates for election to the Breeders’ Cup board of members and trustees are listed below. Each name links to the candidate's biography. Click here to view a compilation of all the candidate's biographies.

Breeders' Cup Board Candidates

John Amerman

Nadia Sanan Briggs

Jack Brothers

Bill Casner

Case Clay

Lincoln Collins

Donald R. Dizney

Tracy Farmer

H. Greg Goodman

George Isaacs

Tom Ludt

Reiley McDonald

Michael McMahon

Clem Murphy

Ogden Mills Phipps

Dan Pride

Andre Regard

Richard Santulli

Joseph V. Shields Jr.

John Sikura

Oliver Tait

E. Duncan Taylor

Robert Trussell Jr.

Rob Whiteley

Jack Wolf



Amerman, Dizney, Farmer, Ludt, Murphy, Phipps, Pride, Santulli, and Sikura are current trustees standing for re-election.