CTHS Honors 2008 Ontario-bred Champions

Adena Springs is Breeder of the Year.

The Canadian Thoroughbred Horse Society (Ontario Division) honored 2008 Ontario-bred champions at its annual awards June 12 at the Lionhead Golf & Country Club in Brampton, Ontario.

The event honored Frank Stronach’s Adena Springs as Breeder of the Year, and the late Morgan Firestone received The Blood-Horse Mint Julep Cup.

Awards were presented to four stallions based on their 2008 earnings of eligible progeny: first place to Bold Executive, followed in order by Trajectory and Bold N’ Flashy. The award for first-crop sire was presented to Tomahawk.

Six members were honored in recognition for their 25-year contribution to the Thoroughbred breeding industry, while Stronach Stables received The Jockey Club of Canada Award as the 2008 leading owner in Ontario.

A silent auction also took place during the event in support of the LongRun Thoroughbred Retirement Society.