Single Earns TRA Scholarship

Eric Single wins Fred Russell-Grantland Rice TRA Scholarship.

(Edited Thoroughbred Racing Association release)
Eric Single will enter the freshman class at Vanderbilt University as the 2009 recipient of the Fred Russell-Grantland Rice TRA Scholarship for sports writing, it was announced by the Thoroughbred Racing Associations June 23.

Single, who graduated this spring from George Walton Comprehensive High School in Marietta, Ga., is the 51st winner of the scholarship instituted by the TRA in 1956. He was one of 72 applicants for this year’s stipend, which covers full tuition at Vanderbilt for four years.

Named in honor of two legendary sports writing alumni of Vanderbilt, the scholarship has an extraordinary record of producing prominent and successful writers and television personalities, including Roy Blount Jr., Bill Livingston, Skip Bayless, John (Joe Bob Briggs) Bloom, David Shenin, Tyler Kepner, Lee Jenkins, and Daniel Wolken. The last-named, who won in 1997, served as a summer intern at The Blood-Horse. The 1984 winner, Chuck Manson, also worked for The Blood-Horse.

While at Vanderbilt, Single plans to explore various academic paths, including English, economics, and history, while also participating in intramural and club sports. His dream is to follow his interest in sport journalism into a career with ESPN.

The scholarship winners, selected by a panel chaired by Oaklawn Park president Charles J. Cella, have distinguished themselves not just in sports writing and broadcasting, but in other fields as well.

The 4-year scholarship is co-sponsored by Vanderbilt University and the TRA and is awarded to an outstanding high school senior with special interest and potential in the field of sports writing.  The TRA represents 49 member racing associations conducting Thoroughbred racing at 42 racetracks in North America. 

Fred Russell-Grantland Rice
TRA Sports Writing Scholarship Winners:
Year  Recipient
1956  Charles D. Nord
1957  Thomas E. Templin
1958  Larry G. Daughtrey
1959  Roy Blount Jr.
1960  Saxon Kim Chapin
1961  Thomas D. Quinn
1962  Robert E. Theil
1963  Richard S. Osborne
1964  Leonard Goldstein
1965  Michael Kiernan
1966  William Livingston
1967  Barry M. Morris
1968  Dennis P. McAuliffe
1969  David R. Rapp
1970  Skip Bayless
1971  John I. Bloom
1972  Irving Muchnik 
1973  Kevin E. Cuneo
1974  Kevin McDonald
1975  David Brooks
1976  Michael L. Jackson
1977  Edward O. Wilson
1978  Charles C. Euchner
1979  Kenneth C. Ray
1980  Zachary V. Wenger
1980  Andrew Byer
1981  Charles R. Bush
1982  Mike Cornwell
1983  Tena Bozicevic Herlihy
1984  Thomas J. Wilson
1984  Chuck Manson
1985  Paul J. Richman
1986  Michael Holmes
1987  David Sheinin
1988  Andrew Maraniss
1989  Mitchell Light
1990  Clay Hensley
1991  Matthew O’Keefe
1992  Andrew M. Derr
1993  Tyler Kepner
1994  Allan L. Owen
1995  Lee Jenkins
1996  Not Awarded
1997  Daniel J. Wolken
1998  Samuel H. Heide
1999  Jeffrey D. Lowe
2000  Matthew James Mee
2001  Robert Craig Murray III
2002  Byron Patrick Dubow
2003  Matthew Collins McDavid
2004  Christopher F. Callaway
2005  Not Awarded
2006  Not Awarded
2007  David A. Namm
2008  Meghan Rose
2009  Eric Single