File Photo

BC Has New Board Members; Farish Still Chair

There are some new faces on the Breeders’ Cup board of directors.

There are some new faces on the Breeders’ Cup board of directors after an election held July 9, but Bill Farish will remain chairman of the organization.

Meanwhile, Breeders’ Cup has scheduled a media teleconference for July 10 at 2 p.m. EDT to discuss recommendations for a long-term strategic plan. The organization, planning for a reduction in foal and stallion nomination fees, is drawing from reserve funds to maintain programs.

During the annual meeting of the Breeders’ Cup board of  members and trustees, Tom Ludt of Vinery, Clem Murphy of Coolmore, Richard Santulli of Jayeff B Stable, Oliver Tait of Darley, and Duncan Taylor of Taylor Made Sales Agency were newly elected to the Breeders’ Cup board of directors. Robert Manfuso of Chanceland Farm was re-elected to the board.

Each director will serve a two-year term. Reynolds Bell Jr., G. Watts Humphrey Jr., and Don Robinson were not re-elected. John Sikura ran for the board but wasn’t elected.

The board of directors as of July 9 is as follows: Helen Alexander, Antony Beck, Farish, Terry Finley, R.D. Hubbard, Roy Jackson, Ludt, Manfuso, Murphy, Satish Sanan, Santulli, Tait and Taylor.

“Our five new directors comprise an outstanding group of individuals with knowledge and expertise that will be vital to the Breeders’ Cup in the opportunities before us,” Farish said in a statement. “We also express our sincere thanks to Reynolds Bell, Watts Humphrey, and Don Robinson for their excellent and distinguished service to the board.”

Greg Avioli was re-elected as Breeders’ Cup president, Manfuso as vice chairman, Matthew Lutz as treasurer, and Robert Watt as secretary. Watt replaced James Philpott Jr., who resigned after serving the organization since its founding days in 1983.

The officers will serve one-year terms.

Breeders’ Cup in a release reported the following committee chair appointments:

Audit and Finance Committee—Tait.
Investment Committee –Santulli.
Compensation Committee—Sanan.
Host Site Committee –Hubbard.
Racing and Nominations Committee—Murphy.

The international consulting firm Value Partners presented its report on development of a long-term strategic plan during the July 9 meeting. The details will be released during the July 10 press conference.