Not For Silver heads a field of seven in the Perryville at Keeneland.

Not For Silver heads a field of seven in the Perryville at Keeneland.

Jim Lisa Photos

Keeneland's Perryville Attracts Seven

Warrior's Reward has a class edge over his six rivals

Ted Julio’s Not For Silver and Windways Farm’s El Brujo will carry top weight of 121 pounds each and concede four pounds to their rivals in the $150,000 Perryville (gr. III) for 3-year-olds Oct. 17 on the Polytrack at Keeneland.

Also a threat in the seven-furlong Perryville is A. Stevens Miles Jr.’s Warrior's Reward , who has a clear class edge over his five contenders. Fifth in the Shadwell Travers (gr. I) last out, Warrior’s Reward hit the board in both the Dwyer (gr. II) and Jim Dandy (gr. II) this summer in New York. He will make his first start on an artificial surface.
Trained by Michael Trombetta, Not for Silver has won two sprint stakes this year highlighted by his 4 1/2-length romp in the Carry Back (gr. II) at Calder on July 11. The Not For Love colt was also runner-up in Pimlico’s Hirsch Jacobs (gr. III) in May. Jeremy Rose, who rode Not for Silver to a fourth-place finish in his most recent start in the Maryland Million Sprint Handicap, will be aboard and break from post position 6. He will also try synthetics for the first time.
El Brujo enters the Perryville off a victory in the Kentucky Cup Sprint (gr. III) Sept. 26 on the Turfway Park Polytrack for his first graded stakes triumph. Trained by Malcolm Pierce, El Brujo is also a two-time sprint stakes winner this year at his home base of Woodbine. The Candy Ride  gelding will break from post 1 under Robby Albarado, who won the Perryville on National Saint in 1999 and Clock Stopper in 2003.
Warrior’s Reward, runner-up to Kensei in the Aug. 1 Jim Dandy, will be ridden by Calvin Borel. He is based at Churchill Downs for trainer Ian Wilkes.
$150,000 Perryville (gr. III, Race 7, 4:05 p.m.), 3YO, 7 Furlongs (Polytrack)
PP. Horse, Jockey, Weight, Trainer
1. El Brujo (ON), R Albarado, 121, M Pierce
2. Keechi Bullet (KY), K J Desormeaux, 117, G D Sacco
3. Warrior's Reward (KY), C H Borel, 117, I R Wilkes
4. Conchacer (KY), J Graham, 117, D Bennett
5. Evolutionist (KY), R Maragh, 117, W I Mott
6. Not for Silver (MD), J Rose, 121, M J Trombetta
7. His Greatness (KY), A O Solis, 117, M P Salazar