Virginia's White New AAEP President

Inducted during organization's convention in Las Vegas.

Dr. Nathaniel White was inducted as the 2010 president of the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP) during the organization’s 55th annual convention, which ended its five-day run in Las Vegas Dec. 9.

A well-known researcher, colic expert, and surgeon, White is the Jean Ellen Shehan Professor at and the director of the Marion du Pont Scott Equine Medical Center at the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine. He is a former chair of the AAEP’s Student Relations and Foundation Advisory Committees. In 2006, White organized an Equine Research Summit as part of the AAEP’s effort to promote equine research. He was awarded the 2004 AAEP Distinguished Service Award for his numerous contributions to the organization. He is a member of the AAEP, the American College of Veterinary Surgeons, and the American Veterinary Medical Association.

“With his current position at the Marion DuPont Scott Equine Medical Center, as well as having previously served as president of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons, Dr. White brings a great deal of veterinary leadership experience to the role of AAEP president. Those experiences, plus his long history of service to the AAEP, will ensure the association’s continued success,” said AAEP executive director David Foley.

Other developments during the convention included the following:

Dr. John Mitchell, a Standardbred racetrack practitioner in Pompano Beach, Fla., joined the AAEP Executive Committee as the organization’s 2010 vice president.

 Bill Brewer, former executive vice president of the American Quarter Horse Association, joined the AAEP board of directors as the equine industry board member.

Dr. Wayne McIlwraith, professor and director of equine orthopedic research at Colorado State University, and Dr. Tom R. Lenz, a champion for equine welfare throughout his career, received Distinguished Lifetime Member Awards.

Dr. John Thomas Vaughan, an instrumental figure in the development of veterinary students at Auburn University and Cornell University for more than 40 years, and the late Dr. Dean Scoggins, an innovative instructor at the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine, received  Distinguished Educator Awards for advancing the equine veterinary profession through impactful teaching and mentorship.

Dr. Josie Traub-Dargatz, a professor of equine medicine at the Animal Population Health Institute at Colorado State University; Dr. Jay Addison of Louisiana; Dr. John Stick, Michigan State University’s large animal hospital chief of staff; and Dr. Roger Rees of Utah were installed as members of the AAEP board of directors.

The North American Equine Ranching Information Council, a non-profit association comprised of 64 family ranchers in Canada and North Dakota, received the Lavin Cup for its efforts to improve equine welfare.