Haynesfield was named New York bred Horse of the Year by the NYTB.

Haynesfield was named New York bred Horse of the Year by the NYTB.

Coglianese Photos

NYTB Honors 2009 Divisional Champions

Three horses took home multiple honors at annual awards dinner in Saratoga Springs.

The New York Thoroughbred Breeders honored the state-bred divisional champions of 2009, as voted by the New York turf writers, at its annual awards banquet on April 12.

The NYTB also presented a special award to the turf writers’ choice for Horse of the Decade, which went to 2003 Kentucky Derby (gr. I) and Preakness Stakes (gr. I) winner Funny Cide. Multiple winners were Haynesfield (Horse of the Year, champion 3-year-old male); Banrock (4-year-old and up male, turf male), and Canadian Ballet (4-year-old and up female, female sprinter, and turf female).

Also honored were the 2009 Steeplechase champion, New York-breds with significant international achievements in 2009, Breeder of the Year, Broodmare of the Year, and trainer and jockey of the year.

The ceremony took place at the Gideon Putnam Hotel in Saratoga Springs, N.Y. Tom Durkin, track announcer for the New York Racing Association, served as master of ceremonies.

The New York-bred divisional champions of 2009 are as follows:

Horse of the Year: Haynesfield
Horse of the Decade: Funny Cide
2-Year-Old Male: Ibboyee
2-Year-Old Filly: Franny Freud3-Year-Old Male: Haynesfield
3-Year-Old Filly: Don't Forget Gil4-and-Up Male: Banrock
4-and-Up Female: Canadian Ballet
Turf Male: Banrock
Turf Female: Canadian Ballet
Male Sprinter: Driven by SuccessFemale Sprinter: Canadian Ballet
Steeplechase Champion: Sunshine NumbersBroodmare of the Year: Nothing Special

Trainer of the Year: Linda Rice
Jockey of the Year: Ramon Dominguez
Breeder of the Year: Anthony Grey

Horses honored for international achievements:
A Shin Forward 
Oiseau de Feu