Arlington Park Serves as Dubai World Cup Simulcast Host

Edited from Arlington Park track notes

For the eighth consecutive year, Arlington Park will serve as the North and South American simulcast host for the $6 million Dubai World Cup, the first race of the 14-race World Series Racing Championship (WSRC), to be run on Saturday, March 29. The world's richest race will be one of four group I simulcast races, with total purses of $12 million, available through Arlington Park from Dubai's Nad Al Sheba Racecourse.

In addition, a tape delay of the UAE Derby will be broadcast with no wagering available.

On March 29, the $2,000,000 Dubai Sheema Classic (UAE-I) for 4-year-olds and upward at a mile and a half on the turf will kick off the card as Race 4 in the program at 9 a.m. CST (10 a.m. EST; 7 p.m. Dubai time).

Race 5, the six-furlong $2,000,000 Dubai Golden Shaheen (UAE-I) for 3-year-olds and up on the dirt will go to post at 10:10 a.m. CST (11:10 a.m. EST; 8:10 p.m. Dubai time).

The $2,000,000 Dubai Duty Free (UAE-I) for 4-year-olds and upward will be contested at a mile and an eighth on the dirt at 10:50 a.m. CST (11:50 a.m. EST; 8:50 p.m. Dubai time) as Race 6.

The final live simulcast, Race 7, at 11:40 a.m. CST (12:40 p.m. EST; 9:40 p.m. Dubai time) will be the featured $6,000,000 Dubai World Cup for 4-year-olds and up at a mile and a quarter on dirt.

The wagering menu consists of Win, Place, Show, Exacta, Trifecta and Superfecta betting on each of the four live races. In addition, there will be Pick 4 wagering on the four races (Races 4,5,6,7), a Pick 3 on the last three contests (Races 5,6,7) and a Daily Double on the Dubai Duty Free and Dubai World Cup (Races 6,7).

The mile and a quarter, $2,000,000 UAE Derby (UAE-II) for 3-year-olds on dirt will be broadcast on a tape delayed basis without wagering between live races.

Advance wagering on the races from Dubai will be available starting at 7 a.m. CST (8 a.m. EST) on Friday, March 28 at most simulcast outlets including Arlington Park's six OTB locations --Trackside Arlington Park (Arlington Heights), Trackside Quad City Downs (East Moline), Trackside Chicago, Trackside Rockford, Trackside Waukegan and Longshots Bar & Grill featuring Trackside in South Elgin.

All racetracks, ITW facilities and OTB locations interested in simulcasting the races from Dubai should contact Arlington Park Simulcast Director Lynn Cannon at 847/385-7786.

Later in the year Arlington Park will host the Arlington Million (gr. I), the fifth leg of the WSRC on Saturday, Aug. 16.


Following is the schedule of the four live races to be simulcast on Dubai World Cup Day on March 29:

9 a.m.
$2,000,000 Dubai Sheema Classic, 4-Year-Olds and Up, 1 1/2 miles (Turf)

10:10 a.m.
$2,000,000 Dubai Golden Shaheen 3-Year-Olds and Up, 6 furlongs

10:50 a.m. $2,000,000 Dubai Duty Free 4-Year-Olds and Up, 1 1/8 miles (Turf)

11:40 a.m.
$6,000,000, Dubai World Cup, 4-Year-Olds and Up, 1 1/4 miles

All times are CST.

Most Popular Stories