Victory Gallop

Victory Gallop

Anne M. Eberhardt

Victory Gallop in Canadian Hall of Fame

Victory Gallop ended Real Quiet's Triple Crown sweep when he won the Belmont Stakes

Victory Gallop, a Canadian-bred winner of the 1998 Belmont Stakes (gr.  I), is one of five 2010 Thoroughbred inductees in the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame. The son of Cryptoclearance won the male division. The other inductees are Mel Lawson in the builder category and Frank Barroby (jockey), plus Victorian Era (veteran horse) and Lady Angela (female runner).

Victory Gallop was a classic winner and champion for brothers Art, Jack, and J.R. Preston’s Prestonwood Farm. Victory Gallop finished second to Real Quiet in the Kentucky Derby (gr. I) and the Preakness Stakes (gr. I) before beating that colt in the Belmont Stakes (gr. I). The following year, Victory Gallop earned an Eclipse Award as champion older male. He retired from racing with earnings of $3,505,895 and entered stud in 2000 at Bill Casner and Kenny Troutt’s WinStar Farm near Versailles, Ky. He was sent to Turkey several years ago.

Ivan Dalos’ Tall Oaks Farm is the breeder of Victory Gallop, who is out of the Vice Regent mare Victorious Lil.

Mel Lawson, 87, has campaigned numerous stakes winners, including Sovereign Award winners Eternal Search and homebreds Let’s Go Blue and Ginger Gold.

Frank Barroby, 66, who earned numerous riding titles in the western provinces, is the first British Columbia–based trainer elected to the Hall of Fame. He is a member of the British Columbia Thoroughbred Hall of Fame.

Victorian Era (Victorian Park—Ivy, by Nasrullah) was named 1966 Canadian Horse of the Year and champion older male. Trained by Lou Cavalaris, he won a career total of 18 stakes and finished in the top three in 41 of 48 races.

Lady Angela (Hyperion—Sister Sarah, by Abbots Trace) produced 1958 Canadian Horse of the Year Nearctic and additional Canadian major winners Choperion and Lady Victoria. Nearctic achieved lasting fame as the sire of Northern Dancer, who is the sire of Vice Regent.

The inductees will be honored at the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame induction ceremony Thursday, Aug. 19, at the Mississauga Convention Centre in Mississauga, Ontario, Canada.