Goncalves, Maker Among KTM Award Winners

They, along with Ken and Sarah Ramsey, will be honored July 4 at Churchill Downs.

First-time winner Leandro Goncalves, defending titlist Mike Maker, and owners Ken and Sarah Ramsey are the recipients of the Kentucky Thoroughbred Media awards for 2009. They will be honored at Churchill Downs July 4 in the trackside winner’s circle immediately following the second race at 1:16 p.m. EDT.

The KTM awards annually recognize the Kentucky-based owner, jockey, and trainer with the most wins in the calendar year at the Commonwealth’s Thoroughbred tracks. The honors are given in conjunction with The Jockey Information Systems and Equineline.com, which provide the statistical data.

Goncalves, a jockey in his first full year on the Kentucky circuit, won 174 races -- 36 more than two-time KTM winner Julien Leparoux – and took Turfway’s 2009 fall riding title..

Winning the KTM Owner of the Year Award for the 10th straight year are the Ramseys, who last year swept both Churchill Downs meet titles and captured Keeneland’s fall crown. Horses carrying the Ramseys’ familiar red-and-white silks won 75 races in Kentucky, 16 more than Louisville businessman Billy Hays’ runners.

With the Ramseys a major client, Maker powered to his second KTM Trainer of the Year honor with 96 victories, 36 more than second-place Kenny McPeek. In capturing the winter/spring meet crown, Maker won a fifth straight title at Turfway.

Kentucky Thoroughbred Media is an organization of journalists, publicists, and photographers who cover the state’s Thoroughbred racing and breeding industries.