Goldikova is ready to try for her third Breeders' Cup Mile win.<br><a target="blank" href="">Order This Photo</a>

Goldikova is ready to try for her third Breeders' Cup Mile win.
Order This Photo

Mathea Kelley

Goldikova's 3-Peat Bid Begins from Post 10

Brilliant mare faces 10 at Churchill Downs in the Breeders' Cup Mile (gr. IT).

Goldikova, making her bid to become the first three-time Breeders' Cup winner, drew post 10 for the TVG Breeders' Cup Mile (gr. IT). Her first two wins came at Santa Anita Park and this year's bid takes place Nov. 6 at Churchill Downs. Wertheimer and Frere's homebred 5-year-old mare was made the 6-5 morning line favorite.

Goldikova has started once before from an outside post in the Mile. In 2009, she broke from the No. 11 hole and settled off the pace before splitting horses leaving the second turn and rallying four wide heading into the stretch en route to a half-length victory over longshot Courageous Cat. In 2008, she started from post No. 4 when she triumphed by 1 1/4 lengths.

Gio Ponti , last year's champion older male and turf male, was made the 4-1 second choice after drawing post 3. His trainer, Christophe Clement, called it “a great draw,” and said the starting position would allow Gio Ponti to save ground.

John Sadler, the trainer of 10-1 Sidney's Candy, said his charge’s No. 9 post position was “fine.” The trainer added, “He’ll be good from there.”

Rick Dutrow, who trains 12-1 shot Court Vision, described the Mile as "a super tough race" after the 5-year-old son of Gulch ended up in post 4.

"There's enough speed where that field should get spread out a bit early on," Dutrow said. "I know every time we take 'Court' over there he's gonna run big, babe. He's been a major player at the top for a long, long time."

Eleven will go in the $2 million Mile.


TVG Breeders' Cup Mile (gr. I)
Horse Jockey Trainer Odds
1. Beethoven Johnny Murtagh Aidan P. O'Brien 20-1
2. Society's Chairman  Julien Leparoux Roger L. Attfield 20-1
3. Gio Ponti  Ramon Dominguez Christophe Clement 4-1
4. Court Vision  Robby Albarado Richard E. Dutrow, Jr. 12-1
5. Delegator Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor 12-1
6. Paco Boy Ryan Moore Richard Hannon 6-1
7. The Usual Q. T. Victor Espinoza James M. Cassidy 15-1
8. Get Stormy  Javier Castellano Thomas M. Bush 20-1
9. Sidney's Candy Joel Rosario John W. Sadler 10-1
10. Goldikova Olivier Peslier Freddy Head 6-5
11. Proviso Mike Smith William I. Mott 12-1