Jockeys' Guild Elects 27 to Senate

The newly elected group includes three new members.

A total of 27 members of the Jockeys’ Guild have been elected to the organization’s senate, including newcomers Deshawn Parker, Joe Talamo, and Jay Conklin.

Senate members are elected for a two-year term and will be inducted into the senate at the Guild’s annual meeting to be held in Tucson, Ariz., Dec. 6-7. 

“The Guild sincerely appreciates the work and support of the previous senate members and looks forward to working with the newly elected members to further the goals of the guild,” said Terry Meyocks, national manager of the Jockeys’ Guild. “It is essential for the participation of dedicated riders so the Guild can work with all other industry participants to improve the sport of racing.”

The 27 senate members are elected by fellow members of the Guild, with nine from each of three regions. 

Joe Bravo
Javier Castellano
Ramon Dominguez
Stewart Elliot
Mike Luzzi
Deshawn Parker
Mario Pino
Edgar Prado
John R. Velazquez

Robby Albarado
Jesse Campbell
Joel Campbell
Jon Court
Perry Compton
Jerry LaSala
Glen Murphy
Rodney Prescott
Eddie Razo

David Flores
Garret Gomez
Casey Lambert
Mike Smith
Joe Talamo
G.R. Carter
Jay Conklin
Cody Jensen
Freddie Martinez